50-State Guide

Wyoming

At a Glance

CategoryDetails
IMLC MemberYes
FCVSRequired
NP Independent PracticeYes
PA Independent PracticeYes
Physician-Owned PC AllowedNo
Max NPs per PhysicianNo Limit
Max PAs per PhysicianNo Limit

Licensure

ItemCost
Initial License$400
Renewal Fee$300
Renewal CycleAnnual
Annualized Cost$300
Controlled Substance RegistrationYes ($150/yr)

Endorsement & Reciprocity

Not yet researched — whether this state offers license-by-endorsement or reciprocity, and its prerequisites, is being verified.

Unverified Report an error

APC Supervision

In-state requirement for supervising physicians: None.

Nurse Practitioners

NPs can practice independently in Wyoming.

  • Maximum NPs per physician: No Limit (FPA)

Physician Assistants

PAs can practice independently in Wyoming.

  • Maximum PAs per physician: No Limit

CME & Training Requirements

RequirementDetails
Total CMEContact board
Category 1 MinimumContact board
CycleAnnual
Opioid / SUD1 hr/cycle
Human TraffickingRequired per cycle
Suicide PreventionRequired per cycle
DEA MATE Act8 hrs one-time (federal)
Jurisprudence ExamRequired

Fingerprint Requirements

DetailInfo
RequiredNo
FBI CheckUnknown
MethodContact board
Out-of-State OptionsContact board

Malpractice Insurance

  • Required for licensure/practice: No
  • Applies to: Insurance is only required if a physician elects to 'qualify' for coverage under the state Medical Liability Compensation Account (an excess/gap-fill fund), not as a general condition of medical licensure or practice in Wyoming.
  • Compensation fund: To be 'qualified' under the Account, a physician must annually purchase at least $50,000 per-occurrence liability coverage and pay an elective annual surcharge; a physician who does not qualify simply forfeits Account coverage.
  • Wyoming's fund (chapter 33, Medical Malpractice Insurance) exists but participation, and the underlying insurance purchase that qualifies a physician for it, is explicitly elective -- confirming this is NOT a general licensure/practice mandate.

Verified 2026-08-14 Report an error

Giving Up a License

  • Status after lapse: lapsed
  • Lapse consequences: All licenses (other than temporary) expire annually on December 31; the board may reinstate a lapsed license upon payment of a reinstatement fee and satisfaction of initial-license requirements.
  • Reinstatement: A person whose license was voluntarily or involuntarily relinquished, revoked, restricted, or suspended may petition the board for reinstatement no less than 6 months after the board order (or after final judicial review, if any); the petitioner bears the burden of proving correction of the underlying conduct and fitness to safely resume practice.

Verified 2026-08-14 Report an error

Quirks & Gotchas

  • Initial licensure requires TWO parallel systems: the Uniform Application (UA) submitted electronically to Wyoming, plus a separate FCVS (Federation Credentials Verification Service) profile through FSMB. You pay FSMB separately — this cost is on top of Wyoming’s fee and is not disclosed on the Wyoming fee page itself.
  • Supplemental Wyoming-specific documents (addendums and instructions) must be printed and mailed to the Board. No fully electronic submission for these.
  • SSN is mandatory on the UA — no workaround noted.
  • Application fee: $400. The full fee schedule lives in a PDF (dated 1-31-2023) — it is not displayed inline on the website, which makes it easy to miss additional charges.
  • FCVS profile fee is separate (paid to FSMB, currently ~$375 as of FSMB’s published rates, though Wyoming does not state this amount).
  • Applications must be complete at least 15 business days before the next scheduled Board meeting to be considered at that meeting. The Board only meets 3 times per year: January, April, and August. Miss a cutoff and you wait months for the next cycle.
  • 2026 meeting dates: January 23, April 17, August 7. Miss the April cutoff and you wait until August — that is a potential 4-month slip.
  • The Board explicitly warns applicants not to make “substantial life-changing commitments” (relocating, enrolling kids in schools, purchasing property) before the license is actually issued. This is in their official instructions — a sign that delays are common enough to warrant a formal warning.
  • Wyoming does not issue locum tenens, temporary, or short-term licenses. Any temporary authorization requires completing the full licensure process. If that fails, the failed application is reportable to the NPDB. This is an unusual and significant restriction compared to most states.
  • Administrative License: for physicians doing no direct patient care (e.g., employed in administrative roles). Requires a notarized statement. Annual renewal with fees.
  • Emeritus License: must be a current Wyoming licensee; for uncompensated or minimally compensated nonprofit clinical work.
  • Volunteer (Camp) License: up to 21 consecutive days/year, non-renewable, no compensation allowed.
  • Training/Residency License: only for first- and second-year residents in ACGME/AOA-accredited Wyoming programs.
  • All special application types must be submitted by mail — no online option.
  • Wyoming participates in the ACGME’s CME tracking service. Specific hour requirements and mandatory topics (e.g., opioid prescribing, suicide prevention, human trafficking) are buried in the Rules and Regulations PDF on Google Drive — not surfaced on the website. This is a real gotcha since mandatory topic requirements are often the trip wire for renewals.
  • 2026-2027 renewal cycle is currently open.
  • No explicit jurisprudence exam requirement was found on the public-facing website pages. This is notable — Wyoming does not prominently advertise one, unlike many states. However, the full Rules and Regulations (Google Drive PDF) should be consulted to confirm absence before assuming it is not required.
  • Not mentioned anywhere on the public website pages or FAQ summary. Wyoming appears not to require state-level fingerprint/background check submission through the Board, which is unusual — most states now mandate this. Worth confirming directly with the Board at (307) 778-7053 or wyomedboard@wyo.gov, as this could be embedded in the application packet materials rather than advertised publicly.
  • Wyoming participates. The IMLC allows physicians with a principal license in one member state to apply for expedited licenses in other member states. This is the faster path if a physician already holds a license in a qualifying state — it bypasses the 3-meetings-per-year bottleneck to a significant degree.

Researched from state board websites and regulatory sources. Verify with the board directly before applying.

Resources

Sources

Data compiled from state medical board websites, FSMB, and regulatory filings.

Have a correction or update? Let us know.